Jayne provided me with all the help and advice that I needed during construction of my barn conversion which resulted in a trouble free claim to HMRC and a very satisfactory VAT refund!

I approached Jayne once I saw the magnitude of the work involved in submitting a VAT refund claim to HMRC.

Her help and advice from the outset was an undoubted benefit as it highlighted areas that I could not claim and in others, prevented incorrect VAT rate being charged by the suppliers.

Her charges are extremely reasonable and, in my view, very well worth the time involved.  I didn’t have the knowledge, nor the patience to deal with the VAT regulations and certainly would have not been as accurate.  This would probably have resulted a long correspondence with HMRC after submission of my claim.  Instead, I received my VAT refund within a month of submitting the claim.

Well worth every £ of Jayne’s fee.

Mr G from Monmouthshire received a refund of £36k in October 2016

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

We got Jayne on board early on which was totally invaluable.

I cannot speak highly enough of Jayne. She coordinated and executed our VAT return with such efficiency and without a single hitch. Our claim was processed very quickly by the Revenue without a single query. I believe this was down to Jayne and the quality and accuracy of our submission.

Jayne would always acknowledge safe receipt of invoices on arrival and would process them immediately where possible. At any point in the build, Jayne was able to advise what the running VAT figure stood at which is always good to know. Jayne has much expert advice and knows when to challenge an invoice to ensure it complies to what HMRC will allow.

Jayne provides a very pro active, helpful and practical advisory service. She is very responsive to emails and is very easy to contact by phone. Jayne has a very ‘can do’ approach, is always cheerful and keen to offer solutions and ways around things. We had some very stressful times on our build but I always knew that if I had any problems with VAT related issues with invoices, suppliers etc. Jayne would always calmly talk me through things and was prepared to talk to suppliers direct if necessary. Some suppliers/installers are unfamiliar themselves with new builds and zero rating, so need educating too. The fact that Jayne has built her own home also makes her advice all the more ‘real’ as she is able to share her own experience and suggestions.

Mrs J from Buckinghamshire received a refund of £16k in April 2016

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Jayne’s patience, dedication and cheerful support in the arduous task of tracking, checking and chasing up my 2 year of receipts was faultless. Highly recommended.
I was impressed by Jayne’s attention to detail, unrelenting wish to maximise the return and good humour.

Jayne is a safe pair of hands to help guide a self builder through the process of doing a return, which for many may be the one and only time they do it.

Mr C from Surrey received a refund of £80k in March 2016

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

We recently employed the services of Jayne Daniel, of J M Daniel Business Services Limited, to help us with the preparation of our VAT refund claim for our building project.  

The whole experience was made easy and straight forward.

Jayne Daniel provided us with a great service – friendly, helpful and efficient, managing to secure us a successful outcome.

Mr A from Oxfordshire received a refund of £8k in February 2016

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

By far the best money I spent during my first self-build was to J M Daniel Business Services Limited for the reclamation of VAT. Jayne was always available to offer first class advice and to answer any queries I had. Having total confidence in Jayne allowed me to concentrate on the build and the first thing I will be doing on my next self-build will be to acquire her services again.

Thank you Jayne!!!!!!

Jayne was always available. Whenever I called (which was frequently!) Jayne was either instantly available or called me back within an hour. Her knowledge was second to none. All questions were answered instantly. I was working long hours and project managing the self-build myself so the swift answers of all my questions allowed me to cater the ordering of materials and ultimately the reclaiming of VAT. Time is money when self-building and Jayne’s professionalism and knowledge really did save me money.All invoices were processed within a day or two, with Jayne keeping me informed with a running total of my VAY claim.

Claiming VAT back on a self-build is a mine field for the novice. You can claim VAT back for ‘this but not for that’ and this could lead to costly mistake or there’s a good chance if you don’t fill the forms in perfectly the HMRC will reject the claim. I really enjoyed my self-build and the rewards are amazing. The pressure relieved by J M Daniel Business Services Limited was indescribable and the only thing that surprised me was the cost, I would happily pay double for the amazing service provided.

Mr T from Yorkshire received a refund of £7k in January 2016

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _
Excellent advice and service received from Jayne, who was professional and prompt throughout.
Her prompt replies and communication, accurate and correct advice, made the process easy and straightforward.

Jayne was very friendly and helpful, especially before I’d actually employed her to carry out my VAT refund claim. I made enquiries to her before my self-build project started due to dubious advice from my quantity surveyor and architect regarding claiming back VAT. She offered advice instantly without strings attached, which helped with my decision to use her services over a year later for my VAT refund claim. Once employed, she made the process simple and straightforward and it all progressed without problem.

Dr B from Cornwall received a refund of £19k in September 2015

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Jayne provided us with excellent assistance on compiling our VAT Return from our self-build property.

Jayne was a complete life-saver. She understood the time constraints and pressures we had when building our house and was completely empathetic to our needs. She communicated with us on a regular basis and gave us complete comfort on organising everything, from the receipts and invoices, to filling out the HMRC form. She was a complete blessing to us!

Jayne understood our pressures in organising our self-build as well as trying to keep on top of financials and invoicing. She confidently took this task away from us and gave us the confidence that everything would be dealt with swiftly and securely. She took a massive weight of our shoulders and we had every faith in her abilities and experience to deal with the VAT return. I have no doubts at all in recommending Jayne, as she was absolutely brilliant.

Hire Jayne! She really is just lovely!

Mrs S from Middlesex received a refund of £43k in August 2015

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

For anyone who has completed their own DIY Vat reclaim, it can be complex and stressful.
Jayne provided me with an excellent service and it was stress free.
Jayne explains things clearly and she’s incredibly knowledgeable.
I would definitely recommend her.

Mr G from Lancashire received a refund of £13k in March 2015

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

The services Jayne offers is informative and cost saving. She provided me with an excellent service during a time when my stress levels were at their highest in a long while – she really took the stress out of my finances and saved me a lot of money along the way.

Jayne was always available to discuss what was needed.

VAT is tricky but Jayne knew everything I could claim for and took the stress out of the process.

Jayne spoke to my kitchen company to inform them of what VAT I should be paying and saved me a considerable amount in the meantime.
I think using a VAT specialist is essential doing any self build as there is so much to think about in terms of the actual build that the finance side of things really can spiral if you don’t keep a close eye on it – my eyes were fixed with building and materials and Jayne really helped with collecting my VAT refund and ensuring that people were charging me the correct amount throughout the build.

Mr H from Yorkshire received a refund of £4k in February 2015

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

My experience dealing with Jayne was entirely positive.

Jayne provided me with an excellent service and her detailed knowledge of the VAT reclaim system meant that I was able to recover more money than I expected. I found her very attentive and quick to provide valuable advice where necessary.

I am grateful to Jayne who relieved me of a burden I was ill-equipped to deal with and at a time I needed to give managing my build 100% of my attention. I would recommend her to anyone embarking on a self-build project. Dealing with complex regulations and procedures can be daunting and Jayne provides an efficient and cost effective service.  Without her help, my project would have cost more and been much more stressful.

Mr C from Leicestershire received a refund of £22k in October 2014

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

I used JM Daniel Business Services Ltd to reclaim the VAT expended on my self-build project. I had been putting off preparation of the claim because I did not relish the job of putting everything in order but Jayne made the process easy. Superb service. I shall certainly use her again on my current self-build.’

Dr W from Norfolk received a refund of £6k in March 2014

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Jayne Daniels was recommended to us by the Project Manager of the build.  Jayne provided us with a thorough and efficient service and gave us good, accurate advice which helped us with our claim. 

Mr and Mrs D from West Sussex received a refund of £54k in Apr 2013

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Writing for JM Daniel Business Services Limited- VAT Refunds

I would like to recommend the services of Jayne Daniel at the above named business.. As I reached the end of my own self-build project I began to prepare the forms and documents necessary to reclaim the VAT. It quickly became obvious that this had to be done in the correct manner as you only get one chance to apply. This also comes at a time when I was tired after building my own home and was busy with furnishing, unpacking and finishing off the last details. Jayne explained the process in simple terms, completed the forms, sorted out all the invoices into the correct order and sent it all off to the VAT office. She dealt efficiently with any enquiries and made the whole process easy. The payment was made very promptly and it was a pleasure to work with Jayne at all times. I would wholeheartedly recommend the services of Jayne Daniel to all self-builders at the end of their projects.

Mr F from Sheffield received a refund of £14k in Aug 2012

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

I used the services of Jayne Daniel to recover a substantial overpayment of VAT from a building contractor with whom relations were strained.  I found Jayne to be a very skilled negotiator in dealing with the contractor and HMRC and a very satisfactory settlement was agreed within a short time frame. The service I received was excellent and I would not hesitate to engage her again.

Ms L from London received a refund of £34k in Aug 2012

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

We found Jayne through a home building and renovating magazine. She was brilliant – saved us a lot of money.

Jayne helped us to claim back all the VAT on our house build. She was a pleasure to deal with, very thorough and did a super job in helping us claim back everything due to us. We would highly recommend her to anyone – she saved us a lot of worry.

Finally, her services were charged at a rate that was excellent value for money.

Mr and Mrs C from Llanidloes received a refund of £28k in February 2012

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

I’m a self builder in Buckinghamshire. ‘Jayne helped us do the accounts for our second self-build project. With a full time job and two small children her services were invaluable as we tried to juggle the million things that needed to be done – she advised us throughout the project and ultimately saved us much more than her fee. She communicated quickly and handled HMRC on our behalf with great patience. We’ve just got planning permission for our final self-build and will definitely be using Jayne’s service from the outset.’

Dr S from Buckinghamshire received a refund of £13k in Feb 2012

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

  • Jayne provided a great value for money and professional service
  • With a six year old, a full time job and limited budget we didn’t have the time to tackle our VAT reclaim, it was essential for the completion of the project to get a prompt refund from HMRC.
  • Prompt processing of invoices means you always know where you are throughout the project.
  • Hassle free – Jayne sorts out queries with supplier invoices or points out to you what is wrong and offers advice to ensure it is correct.
  • Proof of accuracy and attention to detail was in prompt receipt of refund from HMRC with no queries or delays.
  • We never imagined that getting money from HMRC could be so hassle free and quick – evidence of the accuracy and professionalism of Jaynes’ work.

Mr and Mrs M from Gloucesteshire received a refund of £18k in Feb 2012

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

“We worked with Jayne from the start of our self-build project and I couldn’t recommend her services highly enough. This is a complex and confusing area of the build to manage and one where mistakes directly cost you money. Jayne was always on hand and no question was ever too much trouble. The money that Jayne saved us was far in excess of the cost of her services.”

Mr R from Hampshire received a refund of £122k in Jan 2012

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Jayne Daniel provided us with an excellent service with regards to reclaiming our VAT during the self build of our house between 2010 and 2011.

We had never built a house before so were completely in the dark with regards to rules and regulations.  Whenever there was anything we were not quite sure about we felt we could speak to Jayne.  She was never phased or impatient despite being in the middle of a build herself with all the upheaval that brings, as well as looking after her family.

As I remember we send batches of invoices with the final certificates sent at the end of the build.  This enabled any queries to be dealt with at the time rather than at the end.  Because of this we were able to put in our claim sooner rather than later.

I would thoroughly recommend J M Daniel Business Services Limited to anyone considering building their own house.  The service we received was second to none.

Mr and Mrs A from Suffolk received a refund of £11k in June 2010

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

I am delighted to provide a testimonial for JM Daniel Business Services. I used the company to reclaim my VAT following a self build house project in 2005.  Jayne was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the whole process and I have no doubt that her efforts enabled me to fully utilise the VAT reclamation on my project.  The service was prompt and professional and if I undertook another project would have no problem in using the company again.

Mr B from Northants received a refund of £11k in October 2008

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Jayne Daniel provided an excellent, fast and worthwhile service (VAT reclaim on self build). We would have no hesitation in using her again.

Mrs L from Lincolnshire received a refund of £18k in November 2007

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

We spent nearly two years undertaking an extensive and costly renovation of a previously derelict property. The fact that we could reclaim much of the VAT element represented a significant saving for us, yet it looked like a slightly daunting proposition. We appointed Jayne having seen her advert in a trade publication and the whole process went very smoothly. Jayne explained what records we needed to provide and managed the claim on our behalf, resulting in a successful rebate. Throughout the process, Jayne was very easy to deal with, kept us informed and provided a great service; we would therefore have no hesitation in recommending her services.

Mr and Mrs J from Cumbria received a refund of £32k in March 2007